Plotting and Scheming

Before you can actually start writing your story, you need to have a clear vision of where you want your story to go. What’s the main conflict? Will there be any sub-conflicts? You’ll need the answers to these questions and more before you can start writing.

It also helps to have a vague image of how you want the story to end, so you can subtly lead your characters to that conclusion. For example, if you’re writing a story about a boy who gets lost in the woods, will you end the story with the boy returning home? Or will you end the story with the boy deciding to stay in the woods because he has to save the world?

But, Lumi, how can I take a one-sentence plot and make it complicated like other writers?

Simple. Just keep asking yourself questions.

You make it sound so easy, though.

I know, I know. It takes a while to train your mind to constantly ask questions, but it can be done. Give me any sort of stimulus and I can develop it just by asking questions.

Let’s go back to that example of the boy getting lost in the woods. If someone told me that that was the idea behind their story, here is a short list of questions I would ask them:

“How did the boy get lost in the woods?”

“How long does he spend in the woods?”

“Does he discover anything meaningful during his time there?”

And those are only three questions. I could go on and on, but since I don’t want to bore you, I’ll cut it right there. Once you get in the practice of asking questions about everything and I do mean everything, you’ll become a much stronger writer.

On that note, if any of you need help with developing your story’s plot, contact me via my contact page and I will help you as best as I can. I have a busy life, though, so don’t get upset if I don’t respond right away. I’ll try to reply back within a week, though.

Just to make this post a bit more helpful, here are some lovely picture tips:

Leave a Reply

